Beds, Bathrooms and other Inspirations

I am fighting this crazy desire to buy paint and wallpaper this morning. It’s a feeling I fight often enough these days, especially since the house I’m living in at the moment has bare, taupe colored walls, just screaming to be updated. No offense to those who like taupe.

Beds for Boys

The room I’m dying to get to these days is my boys’ room. Those of you who know me might be scratching your heads, seeing as how I’ve already painted and designed in there. But, the whole bedding situation has never satisfied me. You see, I have 3 boys. 3 boys who love to be in the same room. 3 boys who love to chat at night when they’re going to sleep, who love to listen to stories on cd together and wake up together. So, even though we now have room for them to have their own rooms, they opted not to separate. You can imagine how this did my momma’s heart good. Anyway, how to manage three twin sized beds in one room is now my dilemma. I have been racking my brain on how to place the beds, on what kind of beds, etc… After 3 months of brainstorming, nothing.

Until last night, when I was perusing flickr. There I was, flickring here and there around my favorite groups of photos and I saw it. The most brilliant idea ever, and it came from bumpercrop.wordpress.com. This chick is a genius. Click on the blog and see for yourself.

So now here I am, totally on fire to hang 3 beds from the wall. Crazy, yes. But I’ve already convinced my poor, long suffering husband of the idea, as well as building me the bed platforms. Thanks, bumpercrop. You are amazing.

Bathroom Idea

The boys have a bathroom in their room. Yes, that is *awesome*. A whole bathroom that they can use as the ‘boy’ bathroom. I’m in heaven. But, it’s a white hole. Nothing but white as far as the eye can see. So, what to do with it?

I’ve fallen head over heels in love with subway tile. It’s very strange to see that in type, but there it is. And yes, those are white too, but, just stick with me. Here’s what I’m thinking. Dark grout. It makes the white tiles stand out fantasticly. Is that even a word? My spell check says no. Anyway, here’s a visual:

 

And then there’s color. I was thinking black/white/lime green. Something like this:

 

or this:

 

Thoughts? Ideas? Too much? Let me know.

 

Other Inspirations

I bet you all thought I forgot about Color Thursday in my excitement over hanging beds and subway tile. While those are quite distracting, nothing tears my thoughts away from awesome color schemes. Today, for your viewing pleasure, we have:

Plum and Gray

Flower Brooch

 

Chunky Reversible Cowl

Plum Rose Pillow

 

Plum Pudding Sterling Silver Necklace

 

Grey Dresser

 

Purple Romance

 

Bee-u-tee-ful, If I say so myself. A bit of a wintery feel, soft yet elegant. And ever so pretty. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

November 4, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . All About Me, Family, Hands Full Creations, House and Home.

3 Comments

  1. dotty botts replied:

    I am impressed. The beds are very interesting. They will like them. Ted slept in a bunk bed and fell out so many times. He lived through it. But, give it some safety thoughts. You will make it work. I like the bath tile. I leave the colors up to you. So far, your choices are working. Mske it what you like. We will see you on the 10th.

  2. Jenny replied:

    Those beds are awesome. I LOVE that idea..and I loved that blog too, friend of yours? Or just a lucky find? I think the subway tile will be perfect for their bathroom too…you’re so creative…can I hire you to come decorate my house someday??? =) Can’t wait to see you all Saturday…xoxo.

  3. momma replied:

    Love the plum and gray!! And I say go for it on the three hanging beds. If anyone can make it work, it’s you!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

