One man’s trash

It’s official. I’m obsessed with Craigslist. Every morning finds me with a fresh brewed cup of joe, searching my greater Sacramento area for super deals and awesome finds. I’ve searched for things from rugs and drapes to plantation blinds and vintage french doors. I’ve even taken to looking for an old travel trailer to restore, but that’s a different story entirely. Anyway, recently, after searching and searching for weeks, I finally scored. Two Ikea couches for less than the price of one brand new one. Yes! Just thinking about it makes me smile all over again. In fact, I’m so proud of my little deal that I’m going to share them with you.

 

The pic of the loveseat from the listing.

 

 

Loveseat

 

The pic of the loveseat in my room. I kept the red corduroy slipcover, seeing as how it looked good against the green walls. I gave it a good wash and voila!

 

 

The couch pic from the listing.

 

 

This is the pic of the sofa with the new slipcover. That, now that I think about it, was another great deal off of Ebay. A $100 savings! And while I love the gray, I think it needs something. Red toss pillows, perhaps?

 

 

 

And while this next find wasn’t a Craigslist goodie, I couldn’t help but show it off. It revealed it’s lovely self to my mom, sisters and I on one of our list trips to the local thrift store. And this find made all of those other dud trips worth while. Check out my amazing vintage mirror!

 

 

Care to guess what I paid? Hmmmm? I’ll show you.

 

 

Seriously, I almost fainted dead away. Thankfully, my sisters’ squeals helped me keep my wits about me long enough to snatch that baby up and pay for her. Sweet.

 

Please don’t think that since I found such a great bargain, I’m letting up on my daily Craigslist search. Far from it. I now have my eye on some great dining room chairs and some pretty awesome patio furniture. Yep. Obsession.

 

 

October 26, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , . All About Me, Hands Full Creations, House and Home, Remodel.

5 Comments

  1. exgoatmilker replied:

    WOW! That mirror is fantastic, Sarah! I cannot believe you scored it for $3. That is so cool!

  2. Cheryl (Copper's Wife) replied:

    Love, love, love those IKEA sofas!! And I’m totally stoked that you have a RED slipcover, too! The mirror is cool, too, and quite a steal. Great finds!

  3. momma replied:

    I love your couches!! And I *love* our trips out “thrifting”. You always score. Fun times.

  4. Annafriend replied:

    Deseret…good times!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

