Not meant to be.

Thursday again, which means another post about my most favorite thing: color. Last week’s thoughts left me with aqua on the brain, and so in typical Sarah fashion, I ran out and did something semi spontaneous. I painted our master bedroom an aqua color.  Really, I painted it the same color that my living room was in Los Angeles. That particular color looked *awesome* in that house, so I just assumed that it would look great in the new place. Why mess with a good thing, right? Um, wrong. Not sure if it was the texture on the walls, (LA walls were smooth) or the fact that the new room gets so much natural light. Whatever the reason, my little paint project went horribly wrong. Let’s just say that my gorgeous aqua color turned into a horrible 1980’s mint green. Can you say, ‘Ewwww’? The rest of the story I’ll save for another post, but suffice to say, I won’t be running out and buying anymore paint based on the color combination I feature today or in the future. Lesson learned.

So, without further ado, today’s color combo is: Gray and Yellow. Who knew that those colors would go so well together? Seriously, it’s a sleeper combo. I challenge you to set aside your doubt and check out the following examples of awesomeness.

Grey and Mustard Rosette Necklace

 

5x7 Love print

 

Yellow Rose Pillow

 

Circles and Dots Bookmark

 

See what I mean? Gorgeous! A perfect marriage of color, just right for fall/winter. Ahh. Need more convincing?

 

Me and Matilda Necktie

 

Gray wool zipper clutch

 

You Make Me Happy

 

Okay, that last one doesn’t really count, but I couldn’t help the play on words. So, are you convinced? Gray/yellow (or charcoal/ mustard for you artsy ones) is a beautiful, underrated combo. Get creative and find a way to incorporate them into your wardrobe/house/life some way.  You won’t be sorry.

October 14, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . All About Me, Hands Full Creations.

5 Comments

  1. Rheanna replied:

    love it! I wish i had a place to put that pillow!!!! Definitely a sleeper combo.

  2. Debbie Feely replied:

    Color is my favorite thing too! Loved the red and aqua last week. Wondering how you found the clips of color, I started googling color pairs and triplets and had a fun evening reacting to combos. I have to say gray and yellow are two of my least favorites, but you have me convinced with this pairing. You won’t see it in my home, but check this out! http://www.hgtv.ca/sarahshouse/theshow.aspx?sectionid=399&categoryid=8295226515459576536&postid=124183

  3. momma replied:

    Ooooh, I love the gray and yellow! Leave it to you to come up with such a pretty pairing.

  4. sara replied:

    A-I’m SUPER jealous about the aqua bedroom!!!!
    and
    B- Now I think I’m obsessed with gray amd yellow *ruffles through supplies to see what she has in gray and yellow*

  5. K Low replied:

    What a great color combo! May have to work with this one myself a bit. I’m thinking a card along these lines is a perfect fall combination.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

