Remember Me?

Yep, I’m the girl who used to run this blog. No, I didn’t fall of the face of the earth, but I did do something that’s pretty darn close to that.

I moved.

Need I say more? For those of you who have undertaken a move, you know exactly what I mean. For those of  you who haven’t had the pleasure of moving, believe me when I say that it’s one of the most disruptive things your life can under go, right up there with having a child. My husband received a transfer in February of this year, and after spending 5 1/2 great years in Los Angeles, we moved back home to the Sacramento area. And while we will always cherish our time in L.A., it was time to go back home. With our family located here, it was a good idea to get back so the boys could grow up knowing what it’s like to have everybody close by. And even though the whole process was a hassle and headache, it was *totally* worth it.

The living room on moving day. Man, I'll miss those floors!

Even though we were excited about the move and ready to get into a house that was more suited for a family of 5 with growing boys (the 1330 sq. feet was a tight fit) it was with heavy heart that I said good bye to my cute 1950’s home in San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles. Scott and I had put a lot of love into that house in 5 years, and it actually hurt to leave it behind. I was so thankful that we sold it to a sweet couple who loved it just as much as we did.

The house we bought up in the Sacramento area,(Roseville, to be exact) is *slightly* bigger than the house we had in L.A. Um. Okay. It’s actually quite a bit bigger. Like, 3700 sq. feet. Yeah, I know. It seems like overkill, and I would just sound stupid if I told you that it doesn’t feel that big. But, really, it doesn’t . Anyway, the house was a foreclosure. Those of you who have ever dabbled in real estate know what I mean when I say, ‘foreclosure’. It’s just a fancy name for ‘fixer’. And my gosh, was this house ever in need of some love. I don’t know if the previous owners were lion tamers, and let their pets roam the house, or if their children were raised as wolves. Either way, the carpet and the walls were *disgusting*. How some people can live like that is beyond me. So, with lots of ideas, determination and thick rubber gloves, we are attacking this house and making it our own. It’s my hope that I can stick with this blog often enough to update all of you faithful readers (you 3-4 know who you are!) and show you all of our lovely progress. It’s gonna be awesome and exciting! Really, it is. To make sure you are intrigued and stick around, I’m going to give you all a little teaser. Here is the before pic of our living room. Nasty, huh? I promise the after pic in couple of days. Ooohh, can you handle the suspense?

The living room, before. Can you say 'Ewww' ?

So, with that, I will sign off for now, with high hopes of returning soon with lots of before and after pics of the new house, as well as updates on our daily exploits which involve the boys, homeschooling, owning a business and all that jazz. Cheers!

September 21, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , . All About Me, Family, Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Jenny replied:

    Even though I know what the ‘after’ looks like (“awesome”), I’m still going to be waiting on pins and needles for the pictures. =) xoxo

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

