Baseball, Legos and Skateboards, oh my!

My oldest turned 7 on Wednesday. My first thought on that is this: Where, in the blue blazes did those 7 years go? I mean, wasn’t it just yesterday that my husband and I were trying to figure out how in the heck to be parents to this little newborn? Wasn’t it just last night that I was up at all hours with a wailing baby? I swear. I am now going to join the scores of moms who say that the years fly by.

Max at 18 months - 2004

Max at 7 - 2010

So now we are on to big boy things. ¬†Legos. Skateboards. Bike jumps. Organized Sports. Yikes, is all I have to say. I’m nervous venturing into this unfamiliar territory.It’s hard enough figuring out baby boys. I mean, I’m a girl. The whole boy thing was new anyway. Now I have to figure out how to deal with these big boys and all that comes with them. Can’t we just play with blocks and bang wooden spoons on pots? Can’t we play with Play-doh and pretend food? This is what I’m used to. But Max will have none of it, and secretly, I’m glad. I love watching him come into his own. I love seeing how much he loves baseball, how he uses his creativity to make up ‘inventions’, and his corny knock-knock jokes that crack him up.

Big boy stuff

So, I’m off on this new adventure. My other two boys are following close behind, never to return to toddlerhood. There’s good (no more Wiggles or diapers) and bad (attitudes, homework and fart jokes) to this, but I’m determined to enjoy the ride. Happy Birthday, Max!

February 19, 2010. Tags: , , , , . All About Me, Family.

One Comment

  1. Cheryl (Copper's Wife) replied:

    He sure is growing into a handsome young man! Happy birthday to Max, and “well done” to you and your husband.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

