Zinger-less

I had a bad experience this morning. A lady yelled at me for not opening my car door correctly. Never mind that my door tapped her hard plastic fender. Never mind that there wasn’t the slightest mark. Never mind that I’m a grown woman with 3 children of my own. She yelled at me. And to make matters worse, I just stood there, glued to the ground and said nothing except ‘Okay’.

What?!

I seriously said nothing. I hate that. I hate that I can’t think of something witty to say, something that would make this lady shut her mouth and see how ridiculous she was behaving. I feel like Meg Ryan’s character on You’ve Got Mail. You know the part that I’m talking about:

Kathleen Kelly: [talking via email to “NY152”] No, I know exactly what you mean, and I’m completely jealous. What happens to me when I’m provoked is that I get tongue-tied and my mind goes blank. Then I spend all night tossing and turning trying to figure out what I should have said. What should I have said, for example, to a bottom dweller who recently belittled my existence?
[stops and thinks]
Kathleen Kelly: Nothing. Even now, days later, I can’t figure it out.

Yep. That’s me. I don’t know what makes me more upset. The fact that I was treated rudely or the fact that I just took it. Ugh.

On a happier note, I found this darling lamp at Target. It was on clearance, which made the whole transaction even sweeter. Nothing like a good deal to cheer me up. It’s similar to this cute lil’ thing, just not quite as vintage.

I have no idea where I will put it, but I wanted it, therefore I purchased. ‘Nuff said.

February 12, 2010. All About Me.

2 Comments

  1. exgoatmilker replied:

    Maybe you should write out a little book like Mr. Collins does in Pride and Prejudice except with nice little comebacks instead of compliments?;-)

    I love that lamp, how adorable!

  2. mamaalwayssaid replied:

    Don’t feel bad I always think of great things to say about a year later. If all else fails you can say OH YEAH?!?!!?! Well YOUR MAMA! That works for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

