Thanks, Jason Mraz…

Do you worry ? I do from time to time, and it annoys the daylights out of me. I’d like to think that I *never* worry or over-analyze, giving every thought the exact attention that it needs and then no more. But, if I’m brutally honest with myself, that’s not what happens. Instead, I think and think and think, jumping to every conclusion I can think of, and panicking over the fictitious situation for the rest of the day. Yeah. It sucks.

Worried Denim Guy by Anklebiter

This was what I was dealing with this last week as I drove my boys to their weekly karate lesson. I had grabbed my ipod to help with the drive, figuring the music would help occupy the guys, as well as myself. And just as my worries invaded my head yet again, The Remedy by Jason Mraz started playing through the car speakers.

The peppy music appealed to all of us, so I turned it up and started mindlessly singing along. That’s when Max asked, “Hey Mom? What does this song mean?”

Ouch. Now, I have to explain the meaning of the song to my 7 year old, while kicking myself in the pants and telling myself to listen to my own words. What did the song mean? As I was singing out, “I won’t worry my life away…”  here I was obsessing and thinking about things totally out of my control. It got me to thinking, though, and it was then that I remembered some harder hitting words.

“Be anxious for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:6-7

Don't Worry necklace by PinkBubble

My lesson for today? Chill. Relax. Enjoy today, because tomorrow has plenty of it’s own troubles. And hopefully, if somebody did turn off the sun, I’d still be able to shine. So, thank you, Jason Mraz for your catchy little song, and thank you Max, for causing me to stop and think. And thank you most of all, Lord, for carrying my burdens and helping me to be anxious for nothing.

February 7, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

