Oilcloth, my latest obsession- Part 1

I love oilcloth. I absolutely adore it. I love the look and feel of it, and now that I’ve figured it out, I love to work with it. No need to finish seams or worry about threads unraveling. I’ll be listing the best tips for working with oilcloth in an upcomng post. Right now, I’m going to share my favorite prints and the best places to find this awesome material.

Just part of my oilcloth stash...

Just part of my oilcloth stash...

 So far, the place with the best selection of oilcloth at the best price is A.H. Mecantile Co. Here is the link: http://www.ahmercantile.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=10_21_132 I have ordered from them for quite a while and have been very impressed by their selection and their super speedy shipping. Shipping prices are a flat rate of $4.80 and usually arrive in about a week. Just check out some of their yummy prints available:

awesome retro goodness...

awesome retro goodness...

If you are looking for larger quantities of oilcloth, be sure to check out Fashion Fabrics Club.  http://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/catalog_items.aspx?TypID=142&Viewby=Types&Page=1&gclid=CKXa6fLM4JUCFQkiagod51v_YQ They sell 12 yard rolls of oilcloth. Their print selection is not quite as extensive as A.H. Mercantile, but it’s a pretty good deal, about $60 for a 12 yard roll.

these are so cute, it hurts!

these are so cute, it hurts!

Mendel’s Far Out Fabrics has the same yardage prices as A.H. Mercantile, and their 12 yard rolls are actually a bit more expensive than Fashion Fabric Club, but they have some killer wood grain oilcloth. They also sell little bundles of remnants, great for small coin purse projects! http://www.mendels.com/fabrics10.shtml

that minty polka dot is my new favorite...

that minty polka dot is my new favorite...

 So, there you have it. Those links should at least point you all in the right direction. Next post, I’ll give you some pointers in sewing with oilcloth. It can be a bit tricky, but with a few little adjustments and tools, you can work with fairly easily. Until then, have fun checking out this funky cool material!

September 16, 2008. Tags: , , , , , , , . Hands Full Creations.

3 Comments

  1. mrscjallen replied:

    thanks for sharing these links. I can’t wait to read your tips on working with this as I already have a ton of projects swimming around in my head that I would like to try.

  2. sianabanana replied:

    Hi, I will be interested to read about your tips on working with oilcloth. I have been trying to work with some faux leatherette fabric, but find working with that tough going, and really un motivating when i just keep getting it wrong.

    Love your stuff by the way.

  3. Barb replied:

    I have not worked with it either, but it is so vintage looking. It would make a great bag, you could just wipe it clean. looking forward to hearing your tips.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

