Our life really is a beach…

As summer is winding down, I’m struck with how much time we spent at beach this year. We usually go a few times during the summer, but this year was different.  I don’t know if it’s due to the fact that our boys are older and it’s easier to pack up and go, or if we just had more time on our hands this summer. Maybe a combination of both. All I know is that all 3 boys have officially become beach bums. And they have the sunbleached hair and chocolate brown skin to prove it.

Silas, playing tag with a wave

Silas, playing tag with a wave

But if I’m honest with myself, it’s not just for the boys sake that we head to the beach so often. I LOVE the beach. I love the ocean wind, warm sand, and yes, even the cold salt water. I love the relaxed feeling that comes over me when I’m there. No demanding technology to bother me. No cell service, no email, no tv, etc… Just some warm sunshine, crashing waves and a  new magaizne to leaf through while I watch the boys play tag with the waves. Sweet.
Wes and me. We're catching a wave...

Wes and me. We're catching a wave...

So, it’s with kind of a heavy heart that I say good bye to the hot weather. We may be able to squeze in one or two more trips, but that’s about it. I will miss our trips to the beach. I will miss the smell of sunscreen, the taste of saltwater on my lips, and the sand between my toes. I will miss my sun-kissed boys jumping over each wave as it hits the shore, never once tiring of such a simple game. I will miss the beach, but not for too long. We’ll head back next summer, ready for more fun in the sun.

August 20, 2008. Tags: , , , . Family.

One Comment

  1. Anna replied:

    you write beautifully!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

